North Banat District - Vojvodina (The Serbian Banat)



Észak-bánsági körzet
Severnobanatski okrug
Sjevernobanatski okrug
Districtul Banatul de Nord

Western part in northeastern Serbia

          In 1920, the Vojvodina was detached from Hungary and was granted to the Kingdom of Serbia in the Treaty of Trianon, and in 1945 it became part of Yugoslavia.  Vojvodina is situated in the northern part of Serbia. The region is divided by the Danube and Tisza rivers into: Bačka in the northwest, Banat in the east and Syrmia (Srem) in the southwest. A small part of the Mačva region is also located in Vojvodina, in the Srem District. Today, the western part of Syrmia is in Croatia, the northern part of Bačka is in Hungary, the eastern part of Banat is in Romania (with a small piece in Hungary), while Baranja (which is between the Danube and the Drava) is in Hungary and Croatia. Vojvodina is also part of the Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa euro region.

Western part in northeastern Serbia

The seat of the North Banat District is Kikinda.

North Banat District has 6 municipalities & 50 villages:

Kanjiža Municipality

Kanjiža is located on the right bank of the river Tisa, near the Serbian-Hungarian borderThe Municipality includes the town of Kanjiža and 12 villages:

Kanjiža (Serbian: Kanjiža; Hungarian: Kanizsa, Magyarkanizsa)
Adorjan (Hungarian: Adorján)
Doline (Hungarian: Völgyes)
Horgoš (Hungarian: Horgos)
Male Pijace (Hungarian: Kispiac)
Mali Pesak (Hungarian: Kishomok)
Martonoš (Hungarian: Martonos)
Novo Selo (Hungarian: Újfalu)
Orom (Hungarian: Orom)
Totovo Selo (Hungarian: Tóthfalu)
Trešnjevac (Hungarian: Oromhegyes)
Zimonić (Hungarian: Ilonafalu)

Senta Municipality

Senta is located on the bank of the Tisa river in the Vojvodina province, Serbia.  Although geographically it is located in Bačka.  The Municipality includes the town of Senta  and 4 villages:

Senta (German: Tschenta, Zenta; Hungarian: Zenta; Serbian: Senta; Romanian: Zenta)
Gornji Breg (Felsőhegy)
Bogaraš (Bogaras)
Tornjoš (Tornyos)
Kevi (Kevi)

Ada Municipality

Ada is situated near the river Tisa in Vojvodina province. Although the town is geographically located in Bačka. The Municipality includes the town of Ada, the nearby town of Mol (Hungarian: Mohol) and 3 villages:

Ada (German: ; Serbian: Ада, Ada, Hungarian: Ada)
Utrine (Törökfalu)
Obornjača (Völgypart-Nagyvölgy)
Sterijino (Valkaisor)

Čoka Municipality

Čoka includes the town of Čoka and 7 villages:

Čoka (German: ; Serbian: Čoka, Hungarian: Csóka)
Padej (Hungarian: Padé)
Jazovo (Hungarian: Hódegyháza)
Banatski Monoštor (Hungarian: Kanizsamonostor)
Vrbica (Hungarian: Egyházaskér)
Crna Bara (Hungarian: Feketetó)
Sanad (Hungarian: Szanád)
Ostojićevo (Hungarian: Tiszaszentmiklós)

Novi Kneževac Municipality

Novi Kneževac Municipality includes the town of Novi Kneževac, which is on the Tisa River, and 8 villages:

Novi Kneževac (Hungarian: Törökkanizsa)
Majdan (Hungarian: Magyarmajdány)
Rabe (Hungarian: Rábé)
Banatsko Aranđelovo (Hungarian: Oroszlámos)
Siget (Hungarian: Sziget)
Filić (Hungarian: Firigyháza)
Srpski Krstur (Hungarian: Ókeresztúr)
Đala (Hungarian: Gyála)
Podlokanj (Hungarian: Podolkány)

Kikinda Municipality

Kikinda is the administrative center of the North Banat District. The town has 42,000 inhabitants, while the municipality has approximately 67,000 inhabitants.

The modern city was founded in 18th century. From 1774 to 1874 Kikinda was the seat of the so-called District of Velika Kikinda, the autonomous administrative unit of Austria-Hungary. In 1893 Kikinda was granted the status of a town. The territory of Vojvodina became part of the Kingdom of Serbia in 1918. Kikinda used to be a very strong economic and industrial centre of Serbia and Yugoslavia up until the 1990s. Currently, the industry of Kikinda is in the middle of the transitional economic process.

In 1996, the well preserved archeological remnants of a half a million-year-old mammoth were excavated on the outer edge of the town area[3]. The mammoth called "Kika" has become one of the symbols of the town. Today it is exhibited in the National Museum of Kikinda. Other attractions of the city are the Suvača - a unique horse-powered dry mill, the annual Pumpkin days[4] and the International Symposium of Sculpture "Terra".

In Serbian, the city is known as Kikinda (Кикинда), in Hungarian as Nagykikinda, in German as Gross Kikinda or Großkikinda, in Latin as Magna Kikinda, in Romanian as Chichinda Mare, in Slovak as Kikinda, in Rusyn as Кикинда, and in Croatian as Kikinda. Until 1947 it was known in Serbian as Velika Kikinda (Велика Кикинда).

The municipality of Kikinda comprises the city of Kikinda, nine villages and two hamlets.
The nine villages are:

Sajan (German: Wilhelmfeld)
Banatska Topola (German: Banat Topola)
Rusko Selo (German: Ruskodorf)
Mokrin (German: Mokin)
Bašaid (German: Klein Kikinda)
Iđoš (Mali Idoš: Hegyes, Kishegyes, Krivaja) (HU: Tiszahegyes, Hegyes, Hidjos)
Novi Kozarci (Heufeld)
Banatsko Veliko Selo (German: Sankt Hubert)
Nakovo (German: Nakadorf)
The two hamlets are:
Bikač, officially part of Bašaid
Vincaid, officially part of Banatska Topola

Note: for municipalities with Hungarian ethnic majority, the names are also given in Hungarian.

An interesting fact is that the first three municipalities enlisted (Kanjiža, Senta and Ada) are geographically, in fact, in the Bačka region since the natural border between Banat and Bačka is the river Tisa.

[Published at by Jody McKim Pharr] Š2003 Donauschwaben Villages Helping Hands, a Non-profit Corporation.
Webmaster: Jody McKim Pharr
Keeping the Danube Swabian legacy alive!
Last Updated: 24 Jul 2019