Central Banat District - Vojvodina (the Serbian Banat)


Közép-bánsági körzet

Srednjebanatski okrug

Srednjebanatski okrug

Districtul Banatul de Central

Sredobanátsky okres

In 1920, the Vojvodina was detached from Hungary and was granted to the Kingdom of Serbia in the Treaty of Trianon, and in 1945 it became part of Yugoslavia.  Vojvodina is situated in the northern part of Serbia. The region is divided by the Danube and Tisza rivers into: Bačka in the northwest, Banat in the east and Syrmia (Srem) in the southwest. A small part of the Mačva region is also located in Vojvodina, in the Srem District. Today, the western part of Syrmia is in Croatia, the northern part of Bačka is in Hungary, the eastern part of Banat is in Romania (with a small piece in Hungary), while Baranja (which is between the Danube and the Drava) is in Hungary and Croatia. Vojvodina is also part of the Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa euro region.

Seat of the District is in the city of Zrenjanin.

5 Municipalities & 50 villages

Listed by Official Name

Northeastern Serbia

Novi Bečej Municipality

Novi Bečej is on left bank of Tisa River. Serbian and Hungarian language are officially used by municipal authorities. The municipality includes the town of Novi Bečej and the following villages:

Novi Bečej (Neu-Betsche) / Bočar (Botschar) / Kumane (Hungarian: Kumán) / Novo Miloševo (Beudra)

Nova Crnja Municipality

Nova Crnja (Serbian) / Magyarcsernye (Hungarian) / Neuzerne (German)

A village and municipality in Central Banat District of Vojvodina, Serbia.  Although the village of Nova Crnja is a seat of municipality, the largest of these villages is Srpska Crnja.

Includes the following villages:

  • Nova Crnja
  • Aleksandrovo
  • Vojvoda Stepa
  • Radojevo
  • Srpska Crnja (Deutsch Zerne)
  • Toba (Hungarian: Tóba)
  • Molin (German: Molidorf) abandoned in 1961 due to groundwater.

Žitište Municipality

Žitište (Serbian) / Bégaszentgyörgy or Begaszentgyörgy (Hungarian) / Jitiste or Zitiste (Romanian) / Sankt Georgen an der Bega  (German) / Begejski Sveti Djuradj, Yugoslavia (Official)
  • A village and municipality in Central Banat District of Vojvodina, Serbia.
  • It was founded in the 14th century during the Hungarian Kingdom, under Zenthgyurgh (Szentgyörgyi) name, derived from the Hungarian family name Szentgyörgyi.
  • In accordance with the census made in 1910, the linguistic distribution of the 2,814 inhabitants was the following: 1,454 who spoke German language
  • Serbian, Hungarian, and Romanian language are officially used by municipal authorities.
  • As a consequence of World War II and Axis occupation, German population left or was evicted from Begej Sveti Durad after the war, while 270 Serb families from Bosanska Krajina came to the settlement. In 1947, the name of the settlement was officially changed to Žitište. In 1960, Žitište became a seat of municipality.
Includes the town of Žitište and the following villages:
  • Banatski Dvor (Hungarian: Szőllősudvarnok)
  • Banatsko Višnjićevo
  • Banatsko Karađorđevo
  • Međa (German: Pardan)
  • Novi Itebej (Hungarian: Magyarittabé)
  • Ravni Topolovac
  • Srpski Itebej (Serbisch-Itebe)
  • Torak (Romanian: Torac)
  • Torda (Hungarian: Torontáltorda)
  • Hetin (Hungarian: Tamásfalva or Hetény)
  • Čestereg

Sečanj Municipality

Sečanj, Yugoslavia / Serbia (Official) / Setschan (German) / Petersheim (German) / Szécsány (Hungarian) /  Torontálszécsány (Hungarian)
  • Sečanj is a village and municipality in Central Banat District of Vojvodina, Serbia.
  • 30 km E of Großbetschkerek / Zrenjanin
  • The village has a population of 2,645, while the Sečanj municipality has 16,298 inhabitants.
  • Serbian, Hungarian & Romanian language are officially used by municipal authorities.
  • H.O.G. Web Site: www.setschan.de/
  • Private Homepage: A Vogel Family History - Blog by Cliff Vogel
Includes the town of Jaša Tomić (Modosch) and the following villages:
  • Sečanj
  • Banatska Dubica
  • Boka
  • Busenje (Hungarian: Káptalanfalva)
  • Jarkovac
  • Konak (Hungarian: Kanak)
  • Krajišnik
  • Neuzina (Neusin)
  • Sutjeska (Hungarian: Szárcsa)
  • Šurjan (Hungarian: Surján)

Zrenjanin Municipality

Zrenjanin (Serbian) / Nagybecskerek (Hungarian) / Becicherecu Mare (Romania) / Großbetschkerek (German)

It is the administrative centre of the Central Banat District of Serbia. In 2002, the city's population was 79,773, while the Zrenjanin municipality had 132,051 inhabitants.

Zrenjanin is the largest city in the Serbian Banat, the third largest city in Vojvodina (after Novi Sad and Subotica) and the sixth largest city in Serbia.

Includes the city of Zrenjanin and the following villages:
  • Aradac
  • Banatski Despotovac (Ernsthausen)
  • Belo Blato
  • Botoš
  • Elemir
  • Ečka
  • Jankov Most
  • Klek
  • Knićanin
  • Lazarevo
  • Lukino Selo
  • Lukićevo
  • Melenci
  • Mihajlovo
  • Orlovat
  • Perlez
  • Stajićevo
  • Taraš
  • Tomaševac
  • Farkaždin
  • Čenta


There are many buildings that stand out by their beauty: the Orthodox Church of Assumption from 1746, the Roman Catholic Church in Arač from 13th century and the Roman Catholic Cathedral from 1868 and the Reformatory Church from 1891.


Today is 03 Mar 2018

Keeping the Danube Swabian legacy alive

 Last Updated: 03 Mar 2018

[Published at DVHH.org by Jody McKim Pharr]

DVHH.org Š2003 Donauschwaben Villages Helping Hands, a Nonprofit Corporation.