Nick Tullius   Alex Leeb
Jody McKim Pharr

Home of the Danube Swabian for over 200 years.



About Banat

The old ("undivided") Banat comprises areas of present-day western Romania, north-eastern Serbia, and southern Hungary, with a total area of 11,013 square miles. It was an Ottoman province from 1552 to 1718, when it became part of Habsburg Austria. Planned colonization by the Habsburg emperors brought large numbers of German settlers from the western regions of the Empire to the Banat. By 1910 there were 388,000 ethnic Germans (locally called Swabians, later Danube Swabians) in the undivided Banat. By the Treaty of Trianon (1920) about two-thirds of the Banat became Romanian; almost a third became Serbian/Yugoslavian; only a small area around Szeget remained within Hungary

The Romanian part is centered around the regional capital of Temeschburg / Temeswar (German) Temesvár (Hungarian), Timisoara, Romania (Official). Other important cities are Arad, Lugosch/Lugos/Lugoj and Reschitz/Resicza/Resita. The area north of the city of Arad, although located north of the river Marosch/Maros/Mures also contained a number Danube-Swabian communities and is, therefore, usually included in studies or articles dealing with the Banat.  Banat is a region in south-eastern Europe, located between the rivers Danube in the south, Theiss / Tisza / Tisa in the west, Marosch /Maros / Mures in the north, & foothills of the Carpathian mountains in the east. [Nick Tullius]

3 Counties of Banat - 1778

In 1778, Maria Theresia sacrificed the rule over the hereditary land to the peace in the Empire and let it integrate into the Hungarian association of states. As a result of the inclusion of the Banat into Hungary, its territory was divided in three counties (Vármegye) (Fig. 3)as it had been before the Turkish occupation. The western strip, from the Marosch to the Danube and along the Theiß (Tisza), formed the county of Torontal, with its county seat in Großbetschkerek. The largest part of this county, with the exception of the area around Großsanktnikolaus, is today on Serbian territory. In the middle, in the form of a narrow strip of the same length, was the Temesch county (Temes), whose administration was located in Temeswar. It included, among others, the localities of Neuarad, Lippa, Busiasch, Detta and Tschakowa, as well as Werschetz, Weißkirchen and Pantschowa which today belong to Serbia. Count Christophor Niczky was appointed the first Prefect

(Comite) of Temesch County.  The eastern strip of the Banat was the county of Karasch-Severin (Krassó-Szörény), which also extended from the Marosch (approximately between Batta and Soborschin / Savarsin) to the Danube (between Basiasch and Orschowa) and its tributary, the Tscherna (Hungarian: Cserna). The county seat was located in Lugosch. ~Anton Zollner

Timis county is a county (judeţ) of western Romania, in the historical region Banat, with the county seat at Timisoara. It is the largest county in Romania. The name of the county comes from the river Timiş, known in Roman antiquity as river Tibisis or Tibiscus. Name variants are Timiş (Romanian), Temes (Hungarian), Tamiš (Serbian), Banat Bulgarian: Timiš)

Torontál county was located in the Banat region. It shared borders with the Kingdom of Serbia and the Hungarian counties Szerém, Bács-Bodrog, Csongrád, Csanád, Arad and Temes (the first county was part of Croatia-Slavonia). The river Danube formed its southern border, the river Tisza its western border,
and the river Maros its northern border.

For information about a specific village, see our Village Index

Banat Coordinators

Nick Tullius
Ottawa - CA

Alex Leeb
Calgary, CA

Jody McKim Pharr
Woodstock, GA

For information about a specific village, see our Village Index

Published at by Jody McKim Pharr


Last Updated: 21 May 2020 ©2003 Donauschwaben Villages Helping Hands, a Nonprofit Corporation.
Webmaster: Jody McKim Pharr
Keeping the Danube Swabian legacy alive!