Home of the Danube Swabian for over 200 years.



About Slavonia

Slavonia (Croatian: Slavonija; German: Slawonien) is a geographical and historical region in eastern Croatia.  It is a fertile agricultural and forested lowland bordered by the Drava river in the north, the Sava river in the south, the Illova river in the west and the Danube river in the east, with Syrmia.

While generally known as a lowland, Slavonia does actually have a number of hills. The main ones are Psunj, Papuk, Požeška Gora, Ravna gora, Krndija and Dilj, which in turn encircle the valley of Požega.

In the early medieval period of the Kingdom of Hungary, Slavonia was a dependent province of the Kingdom, and included only the western part of present-day Slavonia, but also parts of present-day central Croatia (including Zagreb) and the western and northern parts of present-day Bosnia (The eastern parts of present-day Slavonia belonged to Hungary proper). In the late Medieval period Slavonia occupied territories between the rivers Sava, Drava, Sutla and Danube. In the 18th and 19th century, the Kingdom of Slavonia was a province of the Habsburg Monarchy, and included northern parts of present day regions of Slavonia and Syrmia, while the southern parts of these regions were part of the Habsburg Military Frontier (Slavonian Krajina).

For more specific information about individual villages, check the Village Index. 

Syrmia Coordinators:

Volunteer as a Coordinator.
ontribute content.

Keeping the Danube Swabian legacy alive

Published at by Jody McKim Pharr ©2003 Donauschwaben Villages Helping Hands, a Non-profit Corporation.
Webmaster: Jody McKim Pharr
Keeping the Danube Swabian legacy alive!
Last Updated: 07 Apr 2020