In 1920, the Vojvodina was detached from Hungary and was granted to the Kingdom of Serbia in the Treaty of Trianon, and in 1945 it became part of Yugoslavia.  Vojvodina is situated in the northern part of Serbia. The region is divided by the Danube and Tisza rivers into: Bačka in the northwest, Banat in the east and Syrmia (Srem) in the southwest. A small part of the Mačva region is also located in Vojvodina, in the Srem District. Today, the western part of Syrmia is in Croatia, the northern part of Bačka is in Hungary, the eastern part of Banat is in Romania (with a small piece in Hungary), while Baranja (which is between the Danube and the Drava) is in Hungary and Croatia. Vojvodina is also part of the Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa euro region.   Észak-bánsági körzet
Severnobanatski okrug
Sjevernobanatski okrug
Districtul Banatul de Nord

The seat of the North Banat District is Kikinda.  

Western part in northeastern Serbia


North Banat District has 6 municipalities & 50 villages:

  Listed by Official Name  

Kanjiža Municipality

Kanjiža is located on the right bank of the river Tisa, near the Serbian-Hungarian borderThe Municipality includes the town of Kanjiža and 12 villages:

Kanjiža (Serbian: Kanjiža; Hungarian: Kanizsa, Magyarkanizsa)
Adorjan (Hungarian: Adorján)
Doline (Hungarian: Völgyes)
Horgoš (Hungarian: Horgos)
Male Pijace (Hungarian: Kispiac)
Mali Pesak (Hungarian: Kishomok)
Martonoš (Hungarian: Martonos)
Novo Selo (Hungarian: Újfalu)
Orom (Hungarian: Orom)
Totovo Selo (Hungarian: Tóthfalu)
Trešnjevac (Hungarian: Oromhegyes)
Zimonić (Hungarian: Ilonafalu)

Senta Municipality

Senta is located on the bank of the Tisa river in the Vojvodina province, Serbia.  Although geographically it is located in Bačka.  The Municipality includes the town of Senta  and 4 villages:

Senta (German: Tschenta, Zenta; Hungarian: Zenta; Serbian: Senta; Romanian: Zenta)
Gornji Breg (Felsőhegy)
Bogaraš (Bogaras)
Tornjoš (Tornyos)
Kevi (Kevi)

Ada Municipality

Ada is situated near the river Tisa in Vojvodina province. Although the town is geographically located in Bačka. The Municipality includes the town of Ada, the nearby town of Mol (Hungarian: Mohol) and 3 villages:

Ada (German: ; Serbian: Ада, Ada, Hungarian: Ada)
Utrine (Törökfalu)
Obornjača (Völgypart-Nagyvölgy)
Sterijino (Valkaisor)

Čoka Municipality

Čoka includes the town of Čoka and 7 villages:

Čoka (German: ; Serbian: Čoka, Hungarian: Csóka)
Padej (Hungarian: Padé)
Jazovo (Hungarian: Hódegyháza)
Banatski Monoštor (Hungarian: Kanizsamonostor)
Vrbica (Hungarian: Egyházaskér)
Crna Bara (Hungarian: Feketetó)
Sanad (Hungarian: Szanád)
Ostojićevo (Hungarian: Tiszaszentmiklós)

Novi Kneževac Municipality

Novi Kneževac Municipality includes the town of Novi Kneževac, which is on the Tisa River, and 8 villages:

Novi Kneževac (Hungarian: Törökkanizsa)
Majdan (Hungarian: Magyarmajdány)
Rabe (Hungarian: Rábé)
Banatsko Aranđelovo (Hungarian: Oroszlámos)
Siget (Hungarian: Sziget)
Filić (Hungarian: Firigyháza)
Srpski Krstur (Hungarian: Ókeresztúr)
Đala (Hungarian: Gyála)
Podlokanj (Hungarian: Podolkány)

Kikinda Municipality

Kikinda is the administrative center of the North Banat District. The town has 42,000 inhabitants, while the municipality has approximately 67,000 inhabitants.

The modern city was founded in 18th century. From 1774 to 1874 Kikinda was the seat of the so-called District of Velika Kikinda, the autonomous administrative unit of Austria-Hungary. In 1893 Kikinda was granted the status of a town. The territory of Vojvodina became part of the Kingdom of Serbia in 1918. Kikinda used to be a very strong economic and industrial centre of Serbia and Yugoslavia up until the 1990s. Currently, the industry of Kikinda is in the middle of the transitional economic process.

In 1996, the well preserved archeological remnants of a half a million-year-old mammoth were excavated on the outer edge of the town area[3]. The mammoth called "Kika" has become one of the symbols of the town. Today it is exhibited in the National Museum of Kikinda. Other attractions of the city are the Suvača - a unique horse-powered dry mill, the annual Pumpkin days[4] and the International Symposium of Sculpture "Terra"[5].

In Serbian, the city is known as Kikinda (Кикинда), in Hungarian as Nagykikinda, in German as Gross Kikinda or Großkikinda, in Latin as Magna Kikinda, in Romanian as Chichinda Mare, in Slovak as Kikinda, in Rusyn as Кикинда, and in Croatian as Kikinda. Until 1947 it was known in Serbian as Velika Kikinda (Велика Кикинда).

The municipality of Kikinda comprises the city of Kikinda, nine villages and two hamlets.
The nine villages are:

Sajan (German: Wilhelmfeld)
Banatska Topola (German:
Banat Topola)
Rusko Selo (German: Ruskodorf)
Mokrin (German: Mokin)
Bašaid (German: Klein Kikinda)
Iđoš (Mali Idoš: Hegyes, Kishegyes, Krivaja) (HU: Tiszahegyes, Hegyes, Hidjos)
Novi Kozarci (Heufeld)
Banatsko Veliko Selo (German: Sankt Hubert)
Nakovo (German: Nakadorf)
The two hamlets are:
Bikač, officially part of Bašaid
Vincaid, officially part of Banatska Topola

Note: for municipalities with Hungarian ethnic majority, the names are also given in Hungarian.

An interesting fact is that the first three municipalities enlisted (Kanjiža, Senta and Ada) are geographically, in fact, in the Bačka region since the natural border between Banat and Bačka is the river Tisa.

  Listed by Official Name  


  Listed by Official Name (German variant)  


 References | Resources | Links  

Bačka Topola, Mali Iđoš, Srbobran


           Alpha Village List

Last updated: 13 Jan 2011

For family research inquires,
join the
DVHH Mail List!

Please share additional information about this village and/or volunteer to be a Look-Up Guide, email the Banat Coordinators.

English: County
Hungarian: Megye
Romanian: Judet
German: Grafschaft

Village Coordinator:  Volunteer!
Volunteer Application] opens into a new window, save the doc to your computer, complete form, resave & email doc as an attachment.  [Volunteer Information]


Torontál county was located in the Banat region. It shared borders with the Kingdom of Serbia and the Hungarian counties Szerém, Bács-Bodrog, Csongrád, Csanád, Arad and Temes (the first county was part of Croatia-Slavonia). The river Danube formed its southern border, the river Tisza its western border, and the river Maros its northern border.

Banat Church List

Village prefix & suffix translations

Ger. Rom.
or Ser.
Hun. Eng.
Alt vechi/veche O Old
burg cetate var burg
Deutsch German nemet(s) German
dorf sat falva village
gross mare nagy large
haus casa haza house
klein mic(a) kis small
neu nou/noua uj new
sankt sin/san szent saint

Find a Banat
Village Book

Antiquariat Ralf Einhorn
Order (in English) - E-mail

The End of the
German Banat

 Anton Zollner Series

The National Archives of Romania
(Romania Arhivele Nationale)

49 Elisabeta Blvd.
RO-70602 Bucharest
Phone number:
++401 - 315 25 03
Fax number:
++401 - 312 58 41
Person to contact:
Prof. dr Costin Fenesan,
General Director

News & Latest Banat Additions

Village List additions or corrections
contact webmaster

Walter Fissl's
Banat Village Video's

Finding Vital 1796-1945 Data Regarding German and Hungarian Ancestors of Banat(ska) Topola and Novo Selo, Plus an Exposé About the Local 1945-1946 Internment Camp
for Germans of Serbia
By Jacob Steigerwald - The publication should also be of particular interest to descendants of Danube Swabians who have been wondering about actual procedures that Tito?s partisans employed in wiping out the ethnic group. In a variety of ways, my account also has relevance regarding criminal actions against indigenous Germans elsewhere in the country, from 1944 until 1948. [16 Nov 2009] Š 2003-2012 Donauschwaben Villages Helping Hands, a Nonprofit Corporation
Last Updated: 27 May 2013
Keeping the Danube Swabian legacy alive